Neiman Marcus

Chain of American department stores. Along with other famous stores, such as Bergdorf Goodman, it is part of the Neiman Marcus Group. Today it has approximately 30 stores and over 7,000 employees. It was founded in 1907 by Herbert Marcus, Carrie Marcus Neiman and A.L. Neiman. It has become an institution, thanks partly to the Christmas catalogue which proposes the impossible. The group has always offered a very personalized customer service. From 1938, it instituted the Neiman Marcus Award, which is given to designers and other professionals in the fashion industry. Previous recipients include Chanel, Salvatore Ferragamo (1947), Roberta di Camerino (1956), and Missoni (1973). Neiman Marcus was the first store to import Italian knitwear, starting with Mirsa.